PORTO-
FREI
Blick ins Buch

Hickman, K: House at Bishopsgate

von Hickman, Katie   (Autor)

From the Sunday Times bestselling author comes a haunting, magical story set in 17th century London, perfect for fans of The Miniaturist

Buch (Kartoniert)

EUR 16,50

Alle Preisangaben inkl. MwSt.

SOFORT LIEFERBAR (am Lager)

Versandkostenfrei*

Versandtermin: 21. Juni 2021, wenn Sie jetzt bestellen.
(innerhalb Deutschlands, Sendungen in Geschenkverpackung: + 1 Werktag)

Dieser Artikel kann nicht bestellt werden.
 

Produktbeschreibung

1611. James I has recently succeeded to the throne and the Elizabethan age is over. A new artistic and intellectual Renaissance comes to England. As trade routes open up, a rich and cosmopolitan middle class emerges, with an interest in architecture, gardens and textiles. Seven years after he was all but destroyed in his quest to take possession of the Pindar Diamond, Levant Company merchant and former ambassador to Constantinople Paul Pindar returns triumphantly to England. Now one of the wealthiest merchants in London, he brings with him his wife, Celia Lamprey, the Englishwoman with whom, after many vicissitudes, he has at last been united. His great house on Bishopsgate has stood empty for ten years. Now, a phalanx of carpenters, upholsterers and gardeners have been summoned to restore it to its former glory. But all is not as it seems. Celia is frail, and their marriage, despite Celia's longing, is childless. Pindar arranges for Celia's old friend, Annetta, to join them from Venice as Celia's companion. But Annetta arrives to find that another woman, the widow Frances Sydenham, has insinuated herself into the Pindar household. Lady Sydenham seems to have a mysterious hold over Celia and, Annetta suspects, increasingly over Paul Pindar himself. 

Kritik

A hugely enjoyable novel, multi-layered, vividly depicted and a fascinating story . fast moving, complex and deeply satisfying Joanne Harris on The Aviary Gate  

Autoreninfo

Hickman, Katie
Katie Hickman is the author of six previous books, including two bestselling history books, Courtesans and Daughters of Britannia. She has written two travel books: Travels with a Circus, about her experiences travelling with a Mexican circus, which was shortlisted for the 1993 Thomas Cook Travel Book Award, and Dreams of the Peaceful Dragon, about a journey on horseback through the forbidden Himalayan kingdom of Bhutan. She was shortlisted for the Sunday Times Young British Writer of the Year award for her novel The Quetzal Summer. Katie Hickman lives in London with her two children and her husband, the philosopher A.C. Grayling.  

Mehr vom Verlag:

Bloomsbury UK

Mehr vom Autor:

Hickman, Katie

Produktdetails

Medium: Buch
Format: Kartoniert
Seiten: 430
Sprache: Englisch
Erschienen: Februar 2017
Maße: 216 x 134 mm
Gewicht: 479 g
ISBN-10: 1408882213
ISBN-13: 9781408882214

Bestell-Nr.: 18494656 
Libri-Verkaufsrang (LVR):
Libri-Relevanz: 0 (max 9.999)
 

LIBRI: 0000000
LIBRI-EK*: 10.02 € (35.00%)
LIBRI-VK: 16,50 €
Libri-STOCK: 0
LIBRI: 007 vergriffen, keine Neuauflage, nicht vorgemerkt * EK = ohne MwSt.

UVP: 2 
Warengruppe: 11110 

KNO: 60373301
KNO-EK*: € (40.00%)
KNO-VK: 0,00 €
KNV-STOCK: 10

KNOABBVERMERK: 2017. 448 S. 8.503937 in
Einband: Kartoniert
Sprache: Englisch
Beilage(n): ,

Alle Preise inkl. MwSt., innerhalb Deutschlands liefern wir immer versandkostenfrei. Informationen zum Versand ins Ausland.

Kostenloser Versand*

innerhalb eines Werktages

OHNE RISIKO

30 Tage Rückgaberecht

Käuferschutz

mit Geld-Zurück-Garantie