PORTO-
FREI

Blackberry and Wild Rose

von Velton, Sonia   (Autor)

For fans of Jessie Burton and Tracy Chevalier, a rich historical debut set among the Huguenot silk weavers of Spitalfields in the late 18th century

Buch (Kartoniert)

EUR 18,50

Alle Preisangaben inkl. MwSt.

SOFORT LIEFERBAR (am Lager)

Versandkostenfrei*

Versandtermin: 21. Juni 2021, wenn Sie jetzt bestellen.
(innerhalb Deutschlands, Sendungen in Geschenkverpackung: + 1 Werktag)

Dieser Artikel kann nicht bestellt werden.
 

Produktbeschreibung


'Sumptuous and moving. Velton weaves her tale with the threads of betrayal, thwarted dreams and good intentions gone awry' Laura Purcell

'A richly imagined and brilliantly twisty tale' Anna Mazzola

'A plot as finely detailed as Spitalfields silk' Stacey Halls

WHEN ESTHER THOREL, the wife of a Huguenot silk-weaver, rescues Sara Kemp from a brothel she thinks she is doing God's will. Sara is not convinced being a maid is better than being a whore, but the chance to escape her grasping 'madam' is too good to refuse.

INSIDE THE THORELS' tall house in Spitalfields, where the strange cadence of the looms fills the attic, the two women forge an uneasy relationship. The physical intimacies of washing and dressing belie the reality: Sara despises her mistress's blindness to the hypocrisy of her household, while Esther is too wrapped up in her own secrets to see Sara as anything more than another charitable cause.

IT IS SILK that has Esther so distracted. For years she has painted her own designs, dreaming that one day her husband will weave them into reality. When he laughs at her ambition, she unwittingly sets in motion events that will change the fate of the whole Thorel household and set the scene for a devastating day of reckoning between her and Sara.

THE PRICE OF a piece of silk may prove more than either is able to pay. 

Kritik

A sumptuous and moving debut. Velton weaves her tale with the threads of betrayal, thwarted dreams and good intentions gone awry Laura Purcell 

Autoreninfo

Velton, Sonia
Sonia Velton grew up between the Bahamas and the UK. After graduating from university with a first class law degree, she qualified as a solicitor at an international law firm, later going on to specialise in discrimination law. Sonia relocated to the Middle East in 2006. Eight years and three children later she returned to the UK and now lives in Kent. Blackberry and Wild Rose, inspired by real characters and historical events, was short-listed for the Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize as a work in progress, was longlisted for the Mslexia novel competition, and is Sonia's first novel. 

Mehr vom Verlag:

Quercus Publishing

Mehr vom Autor:

Velton, Sonia

Produktdetails

Medium: Buch
Format: Kartoniert
Seiten: 416
Sprache: Englisch
Erschienen: Januar 1900
Sonstiges: 648113
Titelübersetzung: Die Frau im Seidenkleid
Maße: 234 x 154 mm
Gewicht: 513 g
ISBN-10: 1787470768
ISBN-13: 9781787470767

Bestell-Nr.: 25322908 
Libri-Verkaufsrang (LVR):
Libri-Relevanz: 2 (max 9.999)
 

LIBRI: 2682203
LIBRI-EK*: 12.97 € (25.00%)
LIBRI-VK: 18,50 €
Libri-STOCK: 0
LIBRI: 002 lieferbar innerhalb 6 Wochen * EK = ohne MwSt.
P_SALEALLOWED: AF AU BD BT CA GB HM IN IO LK MV NP NZ PK TH UM US ZA SG
P_SALEFORBIDDEN: AF AU BD BT CA GB HM IN IO LK MV NP NZ PK TH UM US ZA SG
DRM: 0
0 = Kein Kopierschutz
1 = PDF Wasserzeichen
2 = DRM Adobe
3 = DRM WMA (Windows Media Audio)
4 = MP3 Wasserzeichen
6 = EPUB Wasserzeichen

UVP: 2 
Warengruppe: 11110 

KNO: 75120265
KNO-EK*: 11.72 € (40.00%)
KNO-VK: 19,25 €
KNV-STOCK: 1

KNOABBVERMERK: 2019. 416 S. 230 mm
KNOSONSTTEXT: 648113
Einband: Kartoniert
Sprache: Englisch

Alle Preise inkl. MwSt., innerhalb Deutschlands liefern wir immer versandkostenfrei. Informationen zum Versand ins Ausland.

Kostenloser Versand*

innerhalb eines Werktages

OHNE RISIKO

30 Tage Rückgaberecht

Käuferschutz

mit Geld-Zurück-Garantie