PORTO-
FREI

Roberts, M: Walworth Beauty

von Roberts, Michèle   (Autor)

From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson

Buch (Kartoniert)

EUR 16,00

Alle Preisangaben inkl. MwSt.

SOFORT LIEFERBAR (am Lager)

Versandkostenfrei*

Versandtermin: 27. Februar 2021, wenn Sie jetzt bestellen.
(innerhalb Deutschlands, Sendungen in Geschenkverpackung: + 1 Werktag)

Dieser Artikel kann nicht bestellt werden.
 

Produktbeschreibung

From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson

2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her riverside flat in cobbled Stew Lane, where history never feels far away, and move to Apricot Place. Yet here too, in this quiet Walworth cul-de-sac, she senses the past encroaching: a shifting in the atmosphere, a current of unseen life.

1851: and Joseph Benson has been employed by Henry Mayhew to help research his articles on the working classes. A family man with mouths to feed, Joseph is tasked with coaxing testimony from prostitutes. Roaming the Southwark streets, he is tempted by brothels' promises of pleasure - and as he struggles with his assignment, he seeks answers in Apricot Place, where the enigmatic Mrs Dulcimer runs a boarding house.
As these entwined stories unfold, alive with the sensations of London past and present, the two eras brush against each other - a breath at Madeleine's neck, a voice in her head - the murmurs of ghosts echoing through time. Rendered in immediate, intoxicating prose, The Walworth Beauty is a haunting tale of desire and exploitation, isolation and loss, and the faltering search for human connection; this is MichŠle Roberts at her masterful best. 

Kritik

A magnificent writer Helen Dunmore Guardian 

Autoreninfo

Roberts, MichŠle
MichŠle Roberts is the author of twelve highly acclaimed novels, including The Looking Glass and Daughters of the House, which won the WHSmith Literary Award and was shortlisted for the Booker Prize, and, most recently, the highly-acclaimed Ignorance, which was longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2013. Her memoir Paper Houses was a BBC Radio 4 Book of the Week. She has also published poetry and short stories, most recently collected in Mud: Stories of Sex and Love. Half-English and half-French, MichŠle Roberts lives in London and in the Mayenne, France. She is Emeritus Professor of Creative Writing at the University of East Anglia, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and a Chevalier de l'Ordre des Arts et Lettres. 

Mehr vom Verlag:

Bloomsbury UK

Mehr vom Autor:

Roberts, Michèle

Produktdetails

Medium: Buch
Format: Kartoniert
Seiten: 399
Sprache: Englisch
Erschienen: April 2017
Maße: 215 x 134 mm
Gewicht: 419 g
ISBN-10: 1408883406
ISBN-13: 9781408883402

Bestell-Nr.: 18494671 
Libri-Verkaufsrang (LVR):
Libri-Relevanz: 6 (max 9.999)
 

LIBRI: 0000000
LIBRI-EK*: 9.72 € (35.00%)
LIBRI-VK: 16,00 €
Libri-STOCK: 0
LIBRI: 007 vergriffen, keine Neuauflage, nicht vorgemerkt * EK = ohne MwSt.

UVP: 2 
Warengruppe: 11110 

KNO: 60364527
KNO-EK*: € (40.00%)
KNO-VK: 0,00 €
KNV-STOCK: 8

KNOABBVERMERK: 2017. 400 p. 22 cm
Einband: Kartoniert
Sprache: Englisch

Alle Preise inkl. MwSt., innerhalb Deutschlands liefern wir immer versandkostenfrei. Informationen zum Versand ins Ausland.

Kostenloser Versand*

innerhalb eines Werktages

OHNE RISIKO

30 Tage Rückgaberecht

Käuferschutz

mit Geld-Zurück-Garantie